dmakson17 is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016

Data Entry for one field changed based on another field's data

There are two parts to my question. I appreciate any help I can get, I am a rookie learning as I go. I am designing a DB for my store that tracks customer special request orders. The orders fall into two categories, next available or future set date.

I have tblWhenNeeded with 'Next Available' and 'Future Date' as the choices. Also, the field in tblOrderDataEntry 'When Needed' is a combo box. What I am trying to accomplish is having the data for the field 'OrderOn' in tblOrderDataEntry be a calculated field if "next Available' is selected or be user entered if 'Future Date' is selected.

Secondly, if I use the Date() function in my calculations, wouldn't the dates based on that calculation change depending on when the order is opened in the future? I'm sure I'm overthinking a lot of this, my brain is just jumbled as I'm learning.

Thanks in advance!!!

Don't use tables for regular data entry!
    Don't use default values in tables!
    Don't use Lookup feature in tables, combo boxes included!

Design tables for your database accordingly your business model and following basic database rules, such as avoiding saving same info multiple times and avoiding saving calculated values into tables unless it is inevitable. Practically you add fields to tables, set data types for them, define primary and foreign indexes, and optionally define table relationships with referential integrity. It's all you need!