clueless528 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007

Create total text box from text boxes populated by drop down on form

Hello,

I am a Access noob and I need help. I have a project where I need to sum totals from multiple text boxes that are populated from a combo box drop down menu on a form. I’m creating certificates after our conference where I’m choosing from the list of sessions for each attendee, I need the credit for those sessions to total.

I’ve tried the following formulas in the Control Source area of the total text box but I cannot get anything to work. I've also attached pictures for reference.

=[Text82]+[Text88] This concatenates
    =Sum([Text82])+Sum([Text88]) Gives an Error Message
    =DSum("Text82","[Text88]") ERROR
    =Sum(nz([Forms]![subCalendar]![Text1]))+(nz([Forms]![subCalendar]![Text25])) ERROR
    =Sum((Val([Text82]))+(Val([Textbox88]))+(Val([textbox92]))) ERROR
    =Sum([column1])+Sum([column2])+Sum([column3]) ERROR
    =Sum([Text82]+[Text88]+[Text92]) ERROR

Any help would be much appreciated…..I have a second issue of wanting to total the different fields of study at the end as well but I’ll take what I can get!

Thanks!

Olivia
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Access help shot.png 
Views:	18 
Size:	182.1 KB 
ID:	29286Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Access help 2.png 
Views:	18 
Size:	197.3 KB 
ID:	29287

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Can't reference control names in aggregate functions, only field names. Since you show UNBOUND controls, I am guessing the form is also UNBOUND which means there is no RecordSource and no fields available for reference.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.