Zoober1 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit

How to use Expression Builder in a query to the show dates and times a transaction occurred

Hello everyone,

I'm new to access and this forum, so please take it easy on me. I am creating a database that tracks transactions (goods in exchange for money) that occur in our office. I have a table called 'TblTransactions' that stores: ID, CustomerName, CompanyType, CompanyName, Date, Time.

Our office is open 24/7/365, so we use three shifts to provide this coverage - Day Shift (07:00 - 15:00), Swing Shift (15:00 - 23:00), and Midnight Shift (2300 - 0700).

Part of what I've been asked to do is create a report that is printed at the end of each shift showing the transactions that occurred during that shift.

I created three queries to drive each of these reports:
    1. QryDailyTransactionReport - DayShift
    2. QryDailyTransactionReport - SwingShift
    3. QryDailyTransactionReport - MidnightShift

The TransactionDate field in each query is based on an unbound 'Date/Time' text box on the 'Switchboard' (aka home screen). It uses the following Criteria: [Forms]![Switchboard]![Date].

I used the expression builder to create a field called 'Shift'. I used the following IIF statement and it works for every query except QryDailyTransactionReport - MidnightShift:

• Shift: IIf(Format([Time],"Short Time") Between "07:00" And "14:59","Day",IIf(Format([Time],"Short Time") Between "15:00" And "22:59","Swing",IIf(Format([Time],"Short Time") Between "23:00" And "06:59","Midnight","Midnight")))

The query only pulls transactions that occurred on the current date. Since the first hour of the Midnight Shift happens during the previous day, the data is not accurate. Is there a way to change this expression so that the last IIF statement includes transactions that occurred after 23:00 on the day before?

Thank you in advance!

-Zoober

Micron is offline Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007