kevin007 is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2002

Complex Survey: Table Structure Design and Normalization

I am a newbie moving Excel DB into ACCESS as it has become unwieldy. I am going to provide here a comprehensive background and am about to be very detailed so that you can help me please! I have seen a million forums on survey db design and nothing that answers my questions on proper table structure design for my needs (which are to analyze the mean responses using many different criteria such as age, gender, time, date, demographic, etc) Mostly we have multiple choice (with a few open ended questions) and a few yes/no. However, we have several different scales that the respondent’s use depending on which question they were answering as you will see! I am wondering how to house this data in the right table and how to relate the tables together.

We currently have data on around 10000 surveys (records) collected over the last few years. We also have 4 different survey versions/types. As the survey evolved (still within the Excel format) questions were added and moved around. We currently have 2 Surveys: one for our "Bus" fleet and one for our "LRT" (Light Rail Transit fleet). But the BUS survey evolved into 3 versions as it was updated -There are Bus A Bus B and Bus A/B. So in Excel we have a field called Survey_Version where it has A, A/B or B, and a field called MODE where it has 1 or 2 where 1 means it’s the Bus survey and 2 means its the LRT survey.

We are a service based industry and we are mostly gauging customer satisfaction here in 7 key performance areas for our Bus and LRT (LIGHT RAIL TRANSIT) services).The 7 areas are:

1 Facilities
    2 Fleet
    3 Operators
    4 Safety and Security
    5 Information
    6 Service Delivery
    7 Routes