Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    HS_1 is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Access 2016

Log on form and user rights

I am a novice at vba , I don’t even know how to start, tried to google it but couldn't find anything which would point me in the right direction,.

I have Logon form which opens Tracking Form. The Logon formis based on a table TB_User with columns Initial, Password, Group. The form Trackinghas checkbox “chk1” and textbox “txt1_Initial’.
    What I’m try to accomplish is:
    If somebody logged on with admin rights assigned ([Group] = “Admin”) then chk1 box can bechecked and txt1_Initials would be populated with user initials.

Thanks

Micron is offline Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Some of the required information has to be guessed based on your post. Best to provide exact form names, control names, etc, when asking for help that needs to refer to them. To me, it looks like what you need is
    Code:
    If Me.Group="Admin" Then
      With Forms!Tracking
       .chk1 = True
       .txt1_Initial = Forms!Logon.Initial
      End With
    End If
    but I don't know where you should place it. This assumes the form you'd run this from has a control called Group that holds the group value and that both forms are open at the same time.
    Last edited by Micron; 12-25-2016 at 11:05 PM. Reason: clarification
    The more we hear silence, the more we begin to think about our value in this universe.
    Paraphrase of Professor Brian Cox.

Windows 10 Access 2016
    Micron thanks for the reply, I don't have control called 'Group' on Tracking Form, the Tracking form reads/writes only from/to Table called "Tracking" and all the controls on the form are related to this table. That is probably the reason why form doesn't recognize Me.Group statement you mentioned above. After I type in user initials and password to the form Logon, it closes and Tracking form opens, only one is open at the same time.