accessdummy is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

How to avoid repetition of records in query for multi value field

Apologies for any blundering errors - I am totally new to Access and it's all rather daunting

I've created a contacts database. Some of the contacts belong to a research team. Within the research team there are different roles e.g. NationalPartner InternationalPartner AdvisoryPanel SupportStaff Researcher. Some people have more than 1 role. There is a master table 'Contacts' and I've created an additional table called 'Roles', and created a multi value field 'Roles' in the 'Contacts' table, sourcing the lookup from the Roles table.

Now I want to create a query that shows all people that are part of the research team. I've added into Roles field into the Query Design with the Critera "NationalPartner" Or "InternationalPartner Or "AdvisoryPanel" etc listing all of the possible roles.

The problem is that I have duplicates in the results when one person has more than one role. E.g. if a person is a NationalPartner and in the Advisory Panel then they appear twice in the results.

QUESTION: how can I create a query to show all people part of the research team and avoid repetitions?

I've been searching forums for ages trying to find a solution so if anyone can shed light I'd be very grateful.

CJ_London is online now VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Think all you can do is not include the multivalue field in your query.

Or if the role is related to the research team (i.e. in this team the role is nationalpartner, in that team the role is international partner) then modify your query to reflect this. Otherwise if you want to avoid duplicate rows but need a role to appear, on what basis do you decide which role to use?

Another option is to use the concatrelated function here http://allenbrowne.com/func-concat.html

Its one of the limitations of using multivalue fields

JoeM is offline VIP
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007