Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    gsucin is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    7

    Drop list/combo box

    Can anyone help me how to create drop list or a combo box to appear a particular report. Thanks

  2. #2
    ranman256's Avatar
    ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    9,521
    Reports dont use combo boxes. They are useless there.
    they only work in forms.

  3. #3
    gsucin is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    7
    OK, let me explain furthermore.

    I have a lot of reports like monthly and overall or yearly report. What I am doing right now for my users access which report needed to print or present for submittal I made a form. In that form I created multiple command button corresponds on each reports, so the user just click what they wants like if they wanted to print January expenses they only have to click that January button then the report pops-up.
    I am thinking there might be a way instead of creating too much command bottom and making my home or menu view page crowded, I can make a droplist instead.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	report menu.png 
Views:	15 
Size:	132.0 KB 
ID:	26279

  4. #4
    orange's Avatar
    orange is offline Moderator
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Posts
    16,716
    As ranman advised, combo box is not used with report.
    See this material from Martin Green re forms and Dynamic Reports.
    Martin has several tips/tutorials that are often referenced.
    Good luck.

  5. #5
    ranman256's Avatar
    ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    9,521
    Ah, if you mean the user picks an item from a combo box on a form, then it opens a report,
    then yes, that is a good way.

    put 2 more text boxes on the form, txtStartDate and txtEndDate.
    another for year.
    Then the user picks the month from the cbo, and the year. This fills in the start and end dates.
    Be sure to set the text box dates in the AfterUpdate events.
    Code:
    sub cboMonth_afterupdate()
      TxtStartDate= cboMonth & "/1/" & txtYR
       TxtEndDate = dateAdd("d",-1,DateAdd("m",1,txtStartDate))
    end sub
    The query in the report is now,
    select * from table where [dare] between forms!frmRpt!txtStartDate and forms!frmRpt!txtEndDate

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-29-2016, 01:32 AM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-13-2014, 06:55 PM
  3. drop down list
    By slimjen in forum Access
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-15-2011, 01:43 PM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-16-2011, 09:30 PM
  5. drop down list
    By tceicher in forum Access
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-13-2009, 05:41 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums