Redletter is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2013 64bit

Flight Scheduling Database Possible?

A little history to begin... I am the "scheduler" for an flying organization that has multiple shifts a day (with changing start times), covers a full 24 hour period (requiring folks to work in "blocks" to cover multiple time schedules), and that has up to 40 shifts a day and up to 6 shifts per block of time. Right now I use Excel to manually input names into a schedule following simple patters to distribute employees over various shifts in their blocks of shifts, then QC my work with scrutiny and conditional formatting for duplicates. I would say that I'm a skilled noob when it comes to making Excel/Access databases, but have worked with them enough that I can get by. My question is, does it seem feasible to create a database that does the following:

Follow a set of rules to automatically place people into fields on a given day, based on variables such as: Work # on 1 off, work no more than 40hrs in a week, etc... all the while monitoring and providing reports on these stats. The big issues I'm having on my own are making patterns, and if/then's to make the # days on # of days off thing work.
    Time
    SUN
    MON
    TUES
    WED
    THUR FRI
    SAT
    JOHN JOHN TIM JOHN JOHN TIM JOHN
    TIM STEVE STEVE TIM STEVE STEVE TIM

Any help or suggestions that you can offer would be greatly appreciated.

Joe

CJ_London is online now VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    My question is, does it seem feasible to create a database that does the following:
    providing you structure the tables and relationships correctly then yes. databases are not a big excel - excel stores data and presentation in the same view, databases store data in tables and use queries, forms and reports for presentation. Your data is an excel structure, in a database you would have as a minimum a table to store the data along the following lines

tblShifts
    ShiftPK autonumber