Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    kevin007 is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2002

Survey DB Query not correctly Calculating COUNTS and AVERAGES by year and quarter.

I am a newbie and am moving my Excel DB into ACCESS as it has become unwieldy.

It is a Survey DB to analysis 10,000 surveys that ask 23 questions (23 fields).

I built a master table and a number of other relational tables. I believe I have a much normalized db right now. I am at the stage of building queries to analyze the data and am running into trouble. I need to COUNT the number of responses to each question (Count of each field) with the condition that any records with an 8 or 9 in them be excluded from the COUNT; as well as calculate AVERAGES for each question with the same criteria to remove any records with an 8 or 9 in them. (8 or 9 refers to responses of Don't Know or No Response) Each query was built using the Design grid and includes the fields of YEAR and QUARTER to group the results by year and then quarter.

To start with I built a separate query for each question to return the average for that question as well as the COUNT. I did this in order to check my new DB against my old Excel DB and analysis tool in order to verify that all my records were correct and had imported correctly. They matched perfectly and returned the correct results! This is great because it tells me I have correctly built my master table and imported my raw data.