Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Locke_Valken is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2016

Need guidance on something that seems simple

I am not very experienced with Access, but it has been requested of me to create a DB that does a specific task that I cannot figure out how to do.

frmIntake/tblIntake (This form should effectively take "X" many of a product type we have in processing and create a record indicating the selected type and generate a/many Job Number/s)
    Quantity = X
    Type = Dropdown selection from another table (this works)
    btnAddRecordsbyQuantityX = does not work

frmJobs/tblJobs
    Job Number = short text, this is a custom setup similar to a sequential serial number system (also working)
    Type = Dropdown selection
    Condition = dropdown selection
    Description = long text
    btnUpdateRecord = works
    btnAddNewRecord = works

Is there a non-vba method to achieve "Add X number of records based on type"?

ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    Access can do anything.
    tho I dont understand your request or your problem.

give a more detailed explanation.

I need 12 new records generated in the tblHeads table - this gives the auto-generated unique IDs.

The drop down controls which table the new records need to be created in. In this case "Heads" Type is selected.

I assume a nested if/then is needed after the other tables are created (tblRods, tblBonnets, etc...)

Looks like i cant insert an image link without approval...

The Form seems simple:

frmIntake (Intake Form)
    Type: (Heads, Rods, Bonnets, Pistons, etc) = Dropdown
    Quantity: (user entry)
    Button: btnSubmitNewRecords

tblHeads
    ID: Custom ID/Serial
    Condition: --
    Description: --
    etc...

tblRods
    etc...

tblBonnets
    etc...