Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    B66 is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2010 32bit

Type mismatch error in a form

Hello everyone!

I am new to Access, so please bare with me. I have a form field that is a lookup to a table and multi select (multi valued). When I insert new values or update existing ones in this field, I get "type mismatch error" in the form. However the corresponding table is updated correctly. Furthermore if I do inserts/edits of this field from the table directly I don't get that message. Any ideas on what's going on and how I can get rid of this message in the form?

Thanks!

CJ_London is online now VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    likely your rowsource for the form control is wrong

B66 is offline Novice
    Thank you for your help. I checked it. The rowsource for the field in the form is correct. The crazy thing is that the table gets updated with the correct selected values in the field. The problem is in the form. I just can't figure it out....

CJ_London is online now VIP
    what is the rowsource to your combo and the bound column property, plus the name and datatype of the bound field.

B66 is offline Novice
    The rowsource to the combo is a table (tblRiskMitigationType), the bound column property is 1, the name of the bound field is RiskMitigationType and the datatype is short text. This field is a LookUp field (multivalued) to another table called tblRisks. I want the user to be able to select more than one value when he enters records in the form frmRisks which updates the tblRisks. Hope this makes sense.

orange is online now Moderator
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL