Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    chalupabatman is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Access 2013 64bit

Building Access Form

I am new to building access forms. I have a table that has a few fields in it
    saleID
    saleAmt
    saleTax
    SaleTotal

On my form - the saleID is not displayed, it is an auto-generated number (primary key)
    the saleAmt is manually input
    the saleTax is calculated by the control Source ..... =NZ([saleAmt],0)*.25
    the saleTotal is calculated by teh control Source .... = NZ([saleAmt],0)+NZ([saleTax])

Now on my form this all displays exactly as it should, BUT when I go back to review the entries in my table saleTax and saleTotal are never updated to the appropriate values. I am thinking maybe as I have the control source set to be a calculation and not a field? How do I get those calculated values into the table fields?

ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    yes, calculated fields should never be saved into a field.
    They should be calculated in a query.

So what would be the appropriate way to get that data from the field into my table?

Should I build a query to run to update these records when the "Save" button is pressed on the form, or what would be the best way to handle this?

ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows 8 Access 2013
    You might want to store tax amounts invoiced in your tblInvoices. Also, you may want to break down State and local taxes in their own columns. I will typically use the double data type in tables to store dollar amounts. I believe the Currency data type in Access uses bankers rounding.

Quote Originally Posted by ItsMe View Post
    You might want to store tax amounts invoiced in your tblInvoices. Also, you may want to break down State and local taxes in their own columns. I will typically use the double data type in tables to store dollar amounts. I believe the Currency data type in Access uses bankers rounding.