Pick9811 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 Access 2007

Help? Complicated Drop-Down

Hello all,
    I am brand new to Access (don't know anything, for the most part). I am trying to put together a database that is way beyond my ability (to be quite honest). I hope to get it up and running on 4 months or so, and learn A LOT along the way. Hopefully in a couple months this database is not beyond me.

Anyway, my question... I am trying to create a database for my unit in the military. I want to be able to take it with me to any unit, and I want to be able to keep people in it, and use it to track our administrative tasks. One of the things I want in it is rank. However, the branches of service all have different rank structures, and to further complicate things there are also civilians. So I want a drop down menu that will first determine what their "status" is (Active duty, Civilian, etc) and then determine what their "branch of service" is (Air Force, Navy, etc) which will pull up the right ranks. I already have a table with status entries, and another with ranks for each branch. How do I make it decide which to use?

Thanks for helping out the super-newbie!

First off thank you for your service! If you could post your fields in your "main table(s)" that would be helpful. Identify the primary key and any foreign keys you may have.

Richard

Windows 7 Access 2007

Thanks!

Thank you! All of us appreciate knowing that we we are supported by the community we live in.

Status is the first hurdle... the status table has an autonumber as the primary key, and "Active Duty - Enlisted", "Active Duty - Officer", "IMA - Enlisted", "IMA - Officer", "Reserve - Enlisted", "Reserve - Officer", "National Guard - Enlisted", "National Guard - Officer", "Civilian", and "Contractor".

Then Branch of Service is also an autonumber PK, and the fields are each of the branches of service, plus DoD (which will only apply to some civilians in some areas).