EmCcausland is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2016

Angry New to access trying to learn on my own

So I have many questions as this is my first time using this software. I'm pretty good at excel but hear that trying to track inventory with excel is a lot harder, and access is one of the better ways to go since I already have the software. I tired using a template but there is a lot more fields in the template than I need to use. I'm not trying to keep cost of inventory, I am simply trying to keep track of inventory in my project at work and it deals with many different part numbers. We receive parts daily and I want to be able to have one table be a dashboard so to speak and have It calculate received inventory as well as keep track of removed inventory so I can see when I need to reorder certain things. I also would like to keep the location of the inventory as well as an issue number that is associated with that specific part. I know it is a lot to ask but I am slowing playing with things getting some things but not others. I have my main dashboard somewhat set up but trying to tie other tables to it to change quantity received and quantity removed is being a little more trouble some than what I'm gathering from help menus and such within the program. is there anywhere I can look for help with creating such a monster? Thanks for any help sent my way.

orange is online now Moderator
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL

Thank you for the video. I have been working on this since my post which was yesterday. I have a quick question. I have a main table that has my received qty and my qty on hand. I have a form which I can input the received qty of a part number. IS there a way to make it when I add the number of received qty on the form add to the pervious value in the main table instead of just replacing the value in the main form?