vicsaccess is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 8 Access 2013

why use relinking code with a text file

i have some code for relinking my FE to the BE after each deployment and so far its working but could be better. Honestly the code itself if probably great but since I'm still learning, i think most of my issue is that i understand the overview of how its working but don't fully understand it enough that i could recreate myself using the methods(if that makes sense). While looking around the internet at some of the different relinking codes and the methods they are using trying to better understand it i came across a fairly new site for access vba at http://accessjitsu.com/ and he has a section and videos for his relinking code explaining what's happening and why (great site by the way). in his code he is using a text file sitting beside the FE to store new file path. I'm kind of Leary of this as I've never done that and my users could possible see and alter this text file. so my question is, since I've seen several relinking codes that do this, why? what is the advantage of storing this path in an external text file versus in a table on the FE? i already have a "default" table that i store different variables in for different queries or loading. would storing this path there be better?

NTC is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013
    I myself no longer wrestle with this type issue. The path to the BE is stored in the FE. In a correctly designed network all users will have the same drive mapping. Thus one links 1 FE only - and the in duplicating/deploying of FEs - everyone's linking is valid.

essaytee is offline Been around a while
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Quote Originally Posted by NTC View Post