shinydiamond is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013 64bit

Multiple Users Accessing ONLY their data using Access Web App?

Hi All,
    I've been tasked with building a web based sales form that my company's sales force can use to enter their lead and prospect information.
    I'm fairly new with Access having designed a couple of basic stand alone databases using Access 2013 and I'm familiar with my limited security options using the desktop client. What I need to understand is if I would be able to build something using the Access Web app that would allow each sales person to login and enter/modify and view only their prospect information. Is this possible with the Access Web app and if so, what's the best way to approach it? Would each salesperson have their own table or could they all use the same table somehow?

Apologies if this has been covered in another post, but I was unable to find anything.

Thanks for any help.

Perceptus is offline Expert
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Yes it is possible. On sever levels. You could track users in the database and provide a login functionality. You could also authenticate with other authentication services like windows or maybe even some OAuth providers.

I user just a table with users and a table with control groups. the users belong to control groups. when a form is opened it checks to see if a user is in that controlgroup and handles accordingly.

Thank you for the reply. I'm glad to hear it can be done with Access and we don't have to buy another tool.
    What is best practice for database design here...would each user have their own table with only their records or can there be one master table with a column that corresponds to their login and somehow they could only view and edit their records? We have about 30 reps so creating a separate table for each rep would be time consuming.

Still looking for advice

Hi All,