Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Radtastic10 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    65

    Form with multiple entries, used as parameters in Query

    I have a form that has 3 combo boxes with possible entries for each different category. I am having a couple different problems.



    1. When I only choose an entry type for the first category, the query pulls some of the results. But it is no where near what that particular one should produce. Not sure what is causing it to do that.

    2. I am not sure exactly to have it set up so that if the user is not sure on one or two of the categories and they just leave them blank it still operates the correct way.

    The query is pulling the information from two tables that are directly related to one another so that shouldn't be a problem. The form is using information from the same two tables as possible entries.

    Any help would be great.

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    orange's Avatar
    orange is offline Moderator
    Windows 8 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Posts
    16,716
    Need more info. Tell us about the application, the tables and the form.

  3. #3
    Radtastic10 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    65
    One table is the overall configuration of the product, and the other is for a subsystem of the product. The form has a combo box for the different parts of the product. One is the container, 1 is the subsystem name and the third is processor of the system. The whole purpose of the query is to give our engineers an easier way to look up old configurations when they need to so they don't have to run tests that have already been done.

    Ideally, I want it to allow them to use any combination of the three combo boxes and still work. So if they only look at a particular container type and aren't too particular on the subsystem and processor type. Or if they want to get really specific and have a particular 1 for all 3 entries.

  4. #4
    Perceptus's Avatar
    Perceptus is offline Expert
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Knoxville, Tennessee
    Posts
    659
    Sounds like you need a cascading combo box that dependent on the previous combo boxes.

  5. #5
    Radtastic10 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    65
    The only problem with a cascading combo box is that any of the 3 current combo boxes could be the 1st one in the cascaded boxes

  6. #6
    Radtastic10 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    65
    Here is the current SQL code for the query.
    Code:
    SELECT Systems.Box, Subsystem.Name, Systems.Processor 
    FROM Systems INNER JOIN Subsystems ON (Systems.ID = Subsystems.ID)
    WHERE (((Systems.Box) Like [Forms]![frmPreviousSystems]![Combo0] & "*") AND (Subsystem.Name Like [Forms]![frmPreviousSystems]!
    [List8] & "*") AND (Systems.Processor Like [Forms]![frmPreviousSystems]![Combo4] & "*")

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Report to query multiple entries
    By bigern87 in forum Reports
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-27-2014, 12:08 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-03-2013, 10:39 AM
  3. Union Query and multiple entries
    By krutoigoga in forum Queries
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-08-2011, 07:17 AM
  4. Query with multiple parameters
    By Knaabis in forum Access
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-30-2011, 01:15 AM
  5. Multiple parameters collected in a query
    By Joe Heiser in forum Queries
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-16-2011, 04:29 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums