CzarBomba is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2016

Cool Introduction/Loaded Access Questions

First of all, I'm new to Access so bear with me a little... I started as the sole data entry person and have been using Access on that basis until recently. It's a long story so all I'm going to say is that this database is a frankenstein's monster and plagued with some logical issues from the very beginning. Basically someone had a good idea but didn't fully understand how to bring that idea into fruition and can't seem to understand why they're not getting the results they want. From a data analysis point of view this a is complete and utter nightmare. Over time I've managed to deal with some of the issues (more like create workarounds or manual fixes to reports that are a waste of my time) eventually I'm going to create a new database but that will take some time and I want to make sure I 100% know what I'm doing.

I guess the primary function of the database is to record production activity (its a manufacturer) but honestly it's hard to say. I also use it to create reports that explain/break down profit/loss margins on specific jobs, and come up with an average time frame it takes for a job to be completed (to use for giving customers due dates that aren't unreasonable). I also created a section for capturing info related to machine issues in order to steer maintenance in the right direction from time to time.