Results 1 to 14 of 14

Data not updating in multi-user environment

  1. #1
    AndyM is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2003
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    7

    Unhappy Data not updating in multi-user environment

    I have created a split database with the back end on the server and front end on client machine. When user 1 updates a record user 2 can not see the updated data until he exits access completely and the goes back into it. Am I missing something obvious in the settings?

  2. #2
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,896
    You need to Refresh your recordset to see changes or Requery to see additions/deletions. Are you doing that?
    (RG for short) aka Allan Bunch Previous MS Access MVP - WinXP Pro, Win7 Pro Win10 Pro - acXP, ac07, ac10, ac13
    How to mark the thread as Solved!
    Teaching is not filling a bucket but lighting a fire.
    Borrowed quote..."Docendo discimus"

  3. #3
    AndyM is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2003
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    7
    Hi, Thanks for the reply. I have tried refreshing the record by clicking on records and refresh and it still does not work until user 1 comes out of access completely and user 2 opens access up. The data is being updated using a form. The database only has one table.

  4. #4
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,896
    The record is not changed until you either leave that record or exit the form. Could that be your issue?
    (RG for short) aka Allan Bunch Previous MS Access MVP - WinXP Pro, Win7 Pro Win10 Pro - acXP, ac07, ac10, ac13
    How to mark the thread as Solved!
    Teaching is not filling a bucket but lighting a fire.
    Borrowed quote..."Docendo discimus"

  5. #5
    AndyM is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2003
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    7
    No Sorry, I have tried both leaving the record and exiting the form and it still doesn't show the update to another user until both have exited access.

  6. #6
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,896
    Hmm...something else is going on then. You are trying to see the changes on one machine by going into a form or just opening up the table in datasheet view?
    (RG for short) aka Allan Bunch Previous MS Access MVP - WinXP Pro, Win7 Pro Win10 Pro - acXP, ac07, ac10, ac13
    How to mark the thread as Solved!
    Teaching is not filling a bucket but lighting a fire.
    Borrowed quote..."Docendo discimus"

  7. #7
    AndyM is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2003
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    7
    BY going into the form

  8. #8
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,896
    Another question: you have two users on two separate machines, each with their own copy of the FrontEnd, right?
    (RG for short) aka Allan Bunch Previous MS Access MVP - WinXP Pro, Win7 Pro Win10 Pro - acXP, ac07, ac10, ac13
    How to mark the thread as Solved!
    Teaching is not filling a bucket but lighting a fire.
    Borrowed quote..."Docendo discimus"

  9. #9
    AndyM is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2003
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    7
    Yep, that's right.

  10. #10
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,896
    Are all three systems running Vista? I wonder if it could be a Vista issue?
    (RG for short) aka Allan Bunch Previous MS Access MVP - WinXP Pro, Win7 Pro Win10 Pro - acXP, ac07, ac10, ac13
    How to mark the thread as Solved!
    Teaching is not filling a bucket but lighting a fire.
    Borrowed quote..."Docendo discimus"

  11. #11
    AndyM is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2003
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    7
    1 is on vista rest are on xp pro. I think I am gonna try putting the back end database on another machine and see if that makes a difference.

  12. #12
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,896
    Please let us know the results of your test.
    (RG for short) aka Allan Bunch Previous MS Access MVP - WinXP Pro, Win7 Pro Win10 Pro - acXP, ac07, ac10, ac13
    How to mark the thread as Solved!
    Teaching is not filling a bucket but lighting a fire.
    Borrowed quote..."Docendo discimus"

  13. #13
    AndyM is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2003
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    7
    Well, I moved the be to a different machine and it worked instantly. Fantastic! don't know why it didn't work on the other box, but it is happy now. thanks for your input.

  14. #14
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,896
    That is great news. Thanks for posting back.
    (RG for short) aka Allan Bunch Previous MS Access MVP - WinXP Pro, Win7 Pro Win10 Pro - acXP, ac07, ac10, ac13
    How to mark the thread as Solved!
    Teaching is not filling a bucket but lighting a fire.
    Borrowed quote..."Docendo discimus"

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Change color font when updating data?
    By Mike1379 in forum Reports
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-17-2010, 08:00 AM
  2. Updating data within a form/table.....
    By softspoken in forum Forms
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-15-2010, 06:33 PM
  3. Exporting and Updating exported data
    By Singapore Sam in forum Import/Export Data
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-15-2009, 09:33 AM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-27-2009, 02:29 PM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-10-2009, 09:57 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Tech Forums: Microsoft Office Forums