sarahc25 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit

Getting table records to copy to another table

Hi,

I'm fairly new to Access building and i've come across a problem that i cannot find a resolution to. Here goes...

I'm trying to create a command button that will 'copy' a record from one table to another
    (e.g. tblQuote record to tblServiceContract Record*new)

I've tried an append query but this doesn;t work as my tblServiceContract has a unique primary ID which i need to keep.
    There are only certain fields from Quotes that i need to use to create the new record in ServiceContacts and i keep getting key validation error whatever i try. Can anyone please advise??

I've also tried the code below:
    Private Sub Command103_Click()
    'No value entered
    If IsNull(Me.SQNumber) Or Me.SQNumber = "" Then
    MsgBox ("Is null or empty")
    Else
    Dim entry As String
    entry = Me.SQNumber
    Dim db As Database
    Dim rs As DAO.Recordset
    Dim rs2 As DAO.Recordset
    Set db = CurrentDb()
    Set rs = db.OpenRecordset("SELECT * FROM TblQuotes1 WHERE(contractconfirmed = true)")
    Set rs2 = db.OpenRecordset("TblServiceAgreements1")
    With rs2
    .AddNew
    .Fields("Frequency") = rs!Frequency
    .Fields("SQNumber") = rs!SQNumber
    .Fields("Customer_ID") = rs!Customer_ID
    .Fields("Price") = rs!Price
    .Fields("Site_ID") = rs!Site_ID
    .Fields("CoordinatorID") = rs!CoordinatorID
    .Fields("Manhours") = rs!Manhours

.Fields("Region_ID") = rs!Region_ID
    .Update
    .Close
    End With
    rs.Close

End If
    End Sub

Still Learning................

ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows 8 Access 2013
    and i keep getting key validation error whatever i try.