Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Perceptus's Avatar
    Perceptus is offline Expert
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Knoxville, Tennessee
    Posts
    659

    Cloud based Access?


    I just got a call about someone wanting to move to move their old Access 1.0 database to a Cloud based Access. How does this work? Are there any limitations?
    Patience serves as a protection against wrongs as clothes do against cold.

  2. #2
    ItsMe's Avatar
    ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows 8 Access 2013
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    7,863
    The only "Cloud Based Access" I am aware of is via SharePoint and Access Services. I believe it is called Access Services. Anyway, this is used to support Access Web Applications. In order for an Access Web Application to work, it needs to be associated with SharePoint and it uses an SQL Database or, at least, a certain flavor of SQL Database as a backend.

    I believe the SQL Database is a type of database that is Azure SQL Database. For a small company or a small workgroup, there may be options via Office 365 and the Business Premium package.

  3. #3
    Perceptus's Avatar
    Perceptus is offline Expert
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Knoxville, Tennessee
    Posts
    659
    That was very informative. Thanks ItsMe.
    Patience serves as a protection against wrongs as clothes do against cold.

  4. #4
    ssanfu is offline Master of Nothing
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Anchorage, Alaska, USA
    Posts
    9,340
    We run our Access 2010 (was 2000) FE/BE "in the cloud". No problems.

    Each user has their own "virtual computer" and there is a drive everyone can access.
    No different than having a computer (my box) on a peer-2-peer LAN and having a different box as a (file) "server".

    Unfortunately, that means it is easy for me to work from home - nights and weekends.
    HTH
    -----
    Steve
    --------------------------------
    "Veni, Vidi, Velcro"
    (I came; I saw; I stuck around.)

  5. #5
    ItsMe's Avatar
    ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows 8 Access 2013
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    7,863
    Yeah, and you could always RDP into your Workstation, too.

    @Steve
    Do you guys have an actual off premises VLAN with virtual machines? I am curious about costs. If you know about any of the overhead, maybe you can PM me.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-02-2015, 03:28 PM
  2. backend-tables in cloud, frontend on desktop
    By raffi in forum Import/Export Data
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-15-2014, 11:57 AM
  3. Using Cloud?
    By DaveWms in forum Access
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-11-2014, 08:39 AM
  4. Saving Acess file to One Cloud
    By Lesky in forum Access
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-07-2014, 09:24 PM
  5. Splitting a database with a cloud service
    By LadyLyke in forum Database Design
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-20-2013, 02:43 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums - Senior Forums