Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    radian89 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2016

Update Price change without changing price in past records, HELP! (newbie here)

Hi All,

I'm newbie in access, I have a product table with sell price for each item, and have invoice subforms for transactions. what i expected is, how to update price change without changing price in past records (so when i create reports/view past invoice for previous sell history, the price displayed are those that valid at that time).

from what i search in google, i need to create another table, which records ItemsID, StartDate, and Price. which will call the updated price base on date.
    I don't know how to do it. much appreciate for step by step help.

thanks a lot for the help

orange is online now Moderator
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Since you are new to Access, there are some videos here that will guide you on database design and the "price on old invoices". You are missing an OrderDetails or InvoiceProduct table. The videos will help.

See post #3 here for more info about the "AgreedToPrice".

Good luck.

Quote Originally Posted by orange View Post
    Since you are new to Access, there are some videos here that will guide you on database design and the "price on old invoices". You are missing an OrderDetails or InvoiceProduct table. The videos will help.

See post #3 here for more info about the "AgreedToPrice".

Good luck.
    Hi Orange,

Thanks for the videos and the post #3, this is what i get, CMIIW, so in my :
    1. product table there's sell price
    2. I already have invoiceproduct table (as a subform in Invoice form, master : Invoicenumber, child : Invoicenumber).