Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Jen0dorf is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    453

    ACCDE file read only????

    Hi

    created my ACCDE file assuming it was read only. When I open it I see a yellow band telling me the database is being opened read only but by saving under a different name can be read/write

    Is this correct? I tried it and it seems not!

    IS there anyway I can suppress this message?

    thanks

    Ian

  2. #2
    ItsMe's Avatar
    ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows 8 Access 2013
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    7,863
    If you are working in a network with Active Directory, it may be an ownership issue. Maybe use the workstation that will consume the file to copy the accde file from a share and then paste it locally.

  3. #3
    Ajax is offline VIP
    Windows 8 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    8,958
    to make a database read only, just make sure all the forms are readonly and user does not have access to tables and queries

  4. #4
    Jen0dorf is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    453
    Hi

    no not working in a workgroup situation.

    Just copied the exe to a USB and ran it on my test PC

    cheers

    Ian

  5. #5
    ItsMe's Avatar
    ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows 8 Access 2013
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    7,863
    Make sure you read post #3. Not sure if you missed it.

    Also, I am not sure I fully understand what you are trying to accomplish. If you did not expect the Read Only thing, you might try zipping the file before transferring it to a USB. Then copy the zipped file onto the local machine from the USB, to unzip it on the local machine.

  6. #6
    Jen0dorf is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    453
    Hi

    sorry if not being clear

    I wanted the database to be read only, which is why I created the accde file.

    So I created the ACCDE file and then copied that exe to a usb stick.

    I went to another PC without access and installed the 2010 run time and then ran the exe.

    I get the following message up

    "
    "READ-ONLY This database has been opened read-only. You can only change data in linked tables. To make design changes, save a copy of the database."

    There is a button on the message bar that allows anyone to save a copy.

    This will be confusing for the users and is not wanted I want to to disable this message bar?

    thanks

    Ian

  7. #7
    ItsMe's Avatar
    ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows 8 Access 2013
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    7,863
    The message that you are getting is not normal and may be caused by different things. For instance, not copying the FE to the local machine.

    I would start by copying the accdb front end file to the workstation machine to see if you get the same message, as a test. It may be as easy as you created the accde in an Access version that is later than the Access Runtime version, e.g. created it using 2013 and then tried running it with 2010 or 2007.

  8. #8
    Jen0dorf is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    453
    Hi

    thanks for the input

    the run time is 2010 as is the version I developed it in.

    I have not split the database as as the users will use it as a stand alone and there will be very very few updates - the cemetary the database relates to is closed!

    Perhaps I#ll try that

    thanks

    Ian

  9. #9
    ItsMe's Avatar
    ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows 8 Access 2013
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    7,863
    the cemetary the database relates to is closed!
    I do not know what this means.

    If you are at a workstation and wish to open the database file that resides on a file share, you must ensure that the User profile used by the workstation exists as Owner of the database file. The simplest is to give the correct Privileges and Ownership to the folder that contains the database file. You could practice by creating a separate folder and an Excel or Word doc, using the same machine and User profile that was used when developing your Access database file.

  10. #10
    Jen0dorf is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    453
    Hi

    sorry the database is a list of graves, memorials etc in a specific graveyard. This grave yard is full and is no longer accepting new internments so in effect it's closed and as such the database will never need updating.

    There are afew family plots that can still be used but last year there were two new entries and this year zero.

    So the database will never change. It is being given to ten or twelve members of our society who help others with research in my area re deceased relatives.

    So each user will be using their own stand alone version on the database run using the access 2010 runtime.

    cheers

    Ian

  11. #11
    Jen0dorf is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    453

    File locations

    Hi

    I seem to have found the resolution to my issues where when running my accde files security questions and a" yellow bar advising to copy the file to make it editable" showing.

    If I run the files from a folder named c:\databases - it runs perfectly no problem

    If I run it from progam files or even documents then all the issues above are shown.

    MUst be do do with security on the host machine.

    Thanks All

    Ian

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. accde file not working properly
    By joshynaresh in forum Database Design
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-28-2013, 04:42 AM
  2. .ACCDE File Format
    By kpo in forum Access
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-23-2012, 11:00 AM
  3. Forms don't work after making accde file
    By bdaniel in forum Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-19-2011, 04:53 PM
  4. Cannot create ACCDE file
    By swilliams in forum Access
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-03-2010, 03:41 PM
  5. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-24-2009, 01:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums - Senior Forums