Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    tmcrouse is offline Competent Performer
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    169

    Latitude and Longitude alteration

    I used GEOCoder to obtain Lat and Long for addresses I have. The only problem is the output is all numeric with no decimals and no way to know the correct lat and long. The output looks like this:

    latitude longitude


    34888890 849000000

    Can anyone tell me how to get them to the correct formatting?

  2. #2
    alansidman's Avatar
    alansidman is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Steamboat Springs
    Posts
    2,529
    Perhaps a query like this.

    SELECT Table1.ID, [Longitude]/1000000 AS NewLong, [Lattitude]/10000000 AS NewLat
    FROM Table1;


    then use the query as your recordset, or create a make table query with the resulting query

  3. #3
    John_G is offline VIP
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Ottawa, ON (area)
    Posts
    2,615
    You should look at the documentation for GEOCoder to determine what the output format is, i.e. where the implied decimal point is and how many decimal places follow it. If you can determine for certain how many decimal places there are - even if they are all zeros - you can convert to the lat-long decimal values by dividing by the appropriate value. You could use type double for maximum accuracy.

    One thing you will need to be careful of is what does GEOCoder do when the integer portion of the lat or long value is <10 or >99, and what does it do for coordinates in the southern or eastern hemispheres.

  4. #4
    orange's Avatar
    orange is offline Moderator
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Posts
    16,725
    I agree with John_G in that your first step is to see what/how GEOCoder has done/expects/should be interpreted.

    You may also find this material from Chip Pearson useful at least as a reference. It says Excel, but the vba is applicable to Access also.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-03-2015, 08:43 PM
  2. latitude and longitude w Google
    By wnicole in forum Access
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-26-2014, 10:58 AM
  3. How can I get latitude and longitude
    By w0st in forum Access
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-05-2014, 05:28 PM
  4. Search as you type Row Source Alteration
    By michael.legge@rbc.com in forum Access
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-03-2013, 08:45 AM
  5. Process Alteration Database Design Methodology.
    By cap.zadi in forum Database Design
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-30-2012, 03:51 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums