Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    sanderson is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 8 Access 2013
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    64

    Access 2013 - 64 bit machine - 32-bit version

    Hi:



    Is there any general information for running databases along with VBA programs in the 64-bit version of Access, if they were created in the 32-bit version? Some features, lines of code, etc. error out in the 64-bit version...

    I am looking for general information, as I have yet to really figure out what doesn't work.

    Thanks for the help!

  2. #2
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,822
    Only issue I have encountered is code using API function declarations. I have to use PtrSafe modifier. https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/lib.../gg278832.aspx
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  3. #3
    ItsMe's Avatar
    ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows 8 Access 2013
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    7,862
    IIRC, there is one data type available in the 64 bit that is not available in the 32. So this would not be a problem if developing in 32 bit. Otherwise, some API's looking for 32 bit dll's might need to be adjusted. You would use ptrsafe with Access 64bit.
    Code:
    Declare PtrSafe Function RegOpenKeyA Lib "advapire32.dll" (ByVal hKey as LongPtr, ByVal lpSubKey As String, phkResult As LongPtr) As Long
    I believe this is the code you want to use to test for Access 64bit.
    Code:
    #If Win64 Then
       MsgBox "Win64 yes"
    #Else
       MsgBox "Win64 no"
    #End If
    for reference
    https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ee691831.aspx

  4. #4
    NTC is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2,392
    Just to clarify your post; as there is a difference between your title and your content:

    there is no issue in running 32 bit Office/Access on a 64 bit "machine" (your title - - as in the OS is 64 bit). If fact this is actually the recommended install. The only need currently for 64 bit Office is typically very sophisticated excel implementations.

    there is an issue of 32 vs 64 Access as is pointed out by J7 & IM - it involves the COM functionality which is fairly rare and always a custom implementation typically by an advanced programmer - since the great majority of Access apps don't involve COM / API code most apps can move between the 2 ok.....

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-13-2015, 02:14 PM
  2. Export From Access 2013 To Excel 2013
    By Esmatullaharifi in forum Programming
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-17-2015, 09:40 PM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-03-2014, 09:46 AM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-11-2014, 07:40 PM
  5. Outlook 2013 + Access 2013 + HTML
    By Yann63 in forum Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-26-2013, 02:39 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums