Hagridore is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit

"All/Integrated" generates an error message when being used as criteria in filter by form operation

I have a database with a master table with 34 fields for each record. I know the advantages to creating my own search form, but I've been told by folks what am in charge not to bother...they're okay with filter by form. Any of these 34 fields may be needed as criteria to find records. The overall process is working fine. I have several controls that are using listboxes connected to secondary tables to accept multiple values for input, some of which are stored as multiple values and others that enable multiple values for the search but only store single values in the record itself. One of my tables has the specific value "All/Integrated" (without the quotes) entered into a field. This single entry is causing problems. I thought it was because of the /, but this is not the case. I created a record with the value "Something/Whatever" (without the quotes) in it, and did not get any error message, and tried using "All/Integrated" (no quotes) in another database and got the same error message. This is the message I'm getting:

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Special Characters Error Message.JPG 
Views:	10 
Size:	25.7 KB 
ID:	21694

Is there some reason Access is treating "All/Integrated" differently than "Something/Whatever"? Again, there is no subquery being run and no secondary code to be displayed or shared. Access doesn't even THINK there is one unless I use the specific value "All/Integrated" in the search. Though I can't be more specific about my form or table because of my company's...p...no...high level of concern...about privacy, I can come up with another database to share that mimics what I'm doing and when this error message comes up if it would help.
    Last edited by June7; 08-18-2015 at 12:39 PM. Reason: edit typo

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit