Wessex is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2013

Smile Hello From A Newby

Hello Everyone - I'm new here & if I have posted in the wrong section - please feel free to let me know or move the thread.

I just thought it would be polite to say hello as I am completely new to Access & I am going to need some serious help from you all - so it is only fair that I let you know the dire straights I'm in just now...

I have been working for over twenty years with Lotus Approach & I have to say that it has served me very well. I am sure there are many Access user users here that took a similar path & so I am also sure you will understand why I need to move on.

I first loaded Approach with 6 floppy disks in 1993 & reloaded it many times over many new computers until windows 7 came along & told me it didn't have a clue what I was trying to do. Being a ludite I simply went out & found a copy of the "millenium edition" on CD/DVD & loaded that - which got me through. Then came windows 8.1 (I'm not going to give it a bad name - it works well for me) which also accepted the CD/DVD version.

So everything was running sweetly - until - my .ADX kept becoming corrupted. That wasn't too bad - as I found out I could drop in a back up copy of the .ADX & I was up & running again in no time.

They say that ignorance is bliss & so it is - because last week my .DBF came up as corrupted & BANG!!! I had lost 3 days work. I back up every week - but I had been busy & the amount of data that could have been "lost" - was SCARY to say the least. Luckily I still had all the hard copy material & could enter it again - but guess what - my confidence is now shot to pieces.

Solution time - I spoke to a few friends & Access came up time & time again as a possible solution - so I bit the bullet & spent "my own" hard earned cash on the download.