Creating a Master Database to store data from other databases and produce reports

Hi all,

I am very new to Access, and was hoping you could help me with this.

I want to create a few smaller standalone access databases that exports data to a master database (saved in a different location), which again can generate reports based on the data from all the smaller databases. I have tried the normal import/export function, but my issue is that this creates a new table in the master database. I would like all the data from the smaller standalone databases to be collated in the same table in the Access database.

I would also like the main database to be updated automatically whenever one of the smaller databases is updated.

Any help on this would be really appreciated.

Thanks!

orange is online now Moderator
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    What is the rationale for a number of smaller databases?

Database is often analogous to "putting your eggs in one basket" and the DBMS is the protector of the basket. Having subsets of data in disparate databases is not necessarily a sound data management strategy.

Database is a means to store related data in a meaningful, efficient way that supports your business.
    You could have a number of reports (with parameters) that could be selected and run as needed.

Tell us more about your business, your data, your reports and your experience with database and you will get more focused responses/help.

See the tutorials a Martin Green's site for info.

Good luck.

Thanks for your reply!