Delta729 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 Access 2010 (version 14.0)

Search form with date

I'm working on building a search form for my db. Main form is frmSeach and subform is frmProjectTaskSearch. The subform is pulling from a table where I have a stored record called ArrivalTime, which is actually a datetime field. However, when searching I'm trying search the whole day. I'm getting a error telling inconsistent formatting. I've tried adding in the format option into the code, but I've still got something wrong. Can anyone help, I've never tried this before.

Private Sub txtStartDate_AfterUpdate()
    Dim myStartDate As String
    myStartDate = "Select * from tblProjects where (Format([ArrivalTime], "mm/dd/yyyy") = '" & Me.cboOriginator & "')"
    Me.frmProjectTaskSearch.Form.RecordSource = myStartDate
    Me.frmProjectTaskSearch.Form.Requery
    End Sub

Thanks,

Dan

orange is offline Moderator
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL

CJ_London is online now VIP
    Windows 8 Access 2010 32bit
    datetime fields are actually numeric e.g. today (14th June) is 42199 and the time is 23:17 which is expressed as a decimal .9700578704 which is the time in seconds divided by 24 hrs x 60mins x 60 seconds

So to check - your arrival time consists of a date (say today) and a time (say 23:17) so is stored as 42199.9700478704 and the same time tomorrow will be stored as 42200.9700478704

you use the format and date functions to express this value in a date/time way and to manipulate the value

It is not clear from your post what you are trying to achieve - your are searching the whole day - but for what? A specific time, all the times on that day? If the latter and cboOriginator contains a date then your code would be

myStartDate = "Select * from tblProjects where (datepart([ArrivalTime]) = #" & format(Me.cboOriginator,"mm/dd/yyyy") & "#)"