Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    aylasevim is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    1

    How to Connect to ASPHostPortal.com sql server with management studio

    I would like to know how to create a subdomain that is a link to an SQL Server database. I have Windows Server 2008 R2 and SQL Server 2008. I have a static IP on the Windows server, and I have a domain at asphostportal.com with the A host record pointing to the static IP.
    I can successfully establish a remote connection to the SQL Server instance through SQL Server Management Studio. But I have to use the www.bestcloudhostingasp.net instead of something like sqldbmain.mydomain.com, which is what I would prefer to use.



    For another example, if I create a SQL database at some web host like asphostportal.com they give me an external link to my DB like sqldb1234.db.bestcloudhostingasp.net. That is what I'm trying to replicate.

    I'm not sure whether this is something that has to be managed through IIS on the Windows server, through the domain management at ASPHostPortal, or through SQL Server management, or even a little bit of all of them.
    EDIT

    For clarification, I'm accessing the database through SQL Server Management studio. In the field where it asks for the "Server Name" is where I enter www.bestcloudhostingasp.net, but I would like to enter the value similar to sqldb1234.db.mydomain.com.

  2. #2
    ItsMe's Avatar
    ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    7,863
    I would get with bestcloudhosting (I think I understand that these guys are hosing your virtual network) and ask them if they can associate a CNAME to your Server's static IP/Endpoint. I am going to guess you will need to create a CNAME with asphostportal (I guess these guys are the Domain Name registrar).

    Talk to the folks hosting the virtual network and let them know who you registrar is. It is likely they will know if the registrar offers the ability to create a CNAME. They will probably even have a little tutorial.

    That is how I have done it. The people hosting the hardware use the CNAME that is generated by the registrar.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Cannot Connect To SQL Server Using Working DSN
    By mes5464 in forum SQL Server
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-03-2013, 12:08 PM
  2. Connect To SQL Server
    By beso in forum Access
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-23-2011, 01:19 PM
  3. Link the data from SQL server management studio to xls.
    By krkow in forum Import/Export Data
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-12-2011, 08:30 AM
  4. Need Urgent Help [Related Connect DB to Server]
    By gunapriyan in forum Access
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-18-2010, 09:49 AM
  5. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-29-2009, 07:20 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums - Senior Forums