Matt T&J is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013

Post Database design question, linking numbers to predetermined text

Hello,

I am fairly new to access and have been trying to build a database that will produce reports with automatic comments based on values set for certain fields.

For example I work in a soil analysis company and one of the fields is SoilPH. this will usually range from 4-8 and depending on what the value is I would like the report to comment on the result and give an additional comment to recommend how to correct a value that is too low or high.

There are going to be around 17 fields with a numerical value like this needing the generation of predefined comments based on the number that is entered.

Currently all comments are input into a template word document but the process is very time consuming and i'm hoping that access can at least semi-automate it .

At the moment I have a table called SoilSample with fields SampleID, SampleName, pHValue, pHcomment, pHaction.

pHcomment and pHaction are both long text data type.

I then have another table called pHcomments. This has fields pH (this is the number i receive from our analysis of a soil); CommentNumber (number); Comment (long text); Action (long text).

e.g. pH =2, CommentNumber =1, Comment =Acid Soil, Action =No liming required

So each pH value has an assigned comment about the value and then an action to correct the value.

There are separate tables for the other 17 values and their comments just like this one.

This is all put together in a form SoilSample with the fields SampleID, SampleName, pHValue. In addition it has 3 text boxes (DLookUps) 1,2 and 3

1 =DLookUp("[CommentNumber]","[phComments]","[PH]>=[pHValue]")
    2 =DLookUp("[Comment]","[phComments]","[CommentNumber]=[pHNumberLookup]")
    3 =DLookUp("[Action]","[phComments]","[CommentNumber]=[pHNumberLookup]")

this brings in all the data onto the form when I enter the pHValue i receive from analysis.