Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    ahoneycutt is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Switch Statement and IIF statements are too long. What is my other option

I am running a crosstab query and have created a new field. This new field needs to evaluate the condition of several of the crosstab columns and then produce an answer.

I have ran out of space using a Switch command or IIf statement and was thinking I could create a Select Case situation but I have little VBA experience.

Here is my what I need. (Short version)

Fields in qry.
    Plan, JobID, EmployeeID,TotalSales,TotalBonus,BonusAmt(I need to create this field using this select statement)

I need to create something similiar to this but do not know how to create the function and I am sure this code is wrong but hopefully you can get what I am trying to do.
    Public Function CalcBonus() As Currency
    Dim ? as Integer
    ? = ?

Select Case ?
    Case 1
    [Plan]=1 and [TotalSales]>=50000
    NewField(BonusAmt) = $500.00

Case 2
    [Plan] = 2 and [TotalSales]>=60000
    NewField(BonusAmt) = $750.00

Case Else
    Newfield(BonusAmt) = 0

End Case

There are at least 15 case possibilites and there are other fields that will be evaluated in the case statement but those I have working fine in the switch statements that I have. The only problem is its too long.

Once I have the code working, I suppose in the qry that I am running I will create the newfield and it will call this function? Maybe, BonusAmt:CalcBonus()

Please help. I need this done today if at all possible.

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    You could maybe create a table of these bonus amounts and their attributes (thresholds and plans). Then a domain aggregate could pull the correct bonus amount based on TotalSales and Plan values. Something like:

=DMax("Bonus", "BonusTable", "Threshold <= " & [TotalSales] & " AND Plan =" & [Plan])