sam81 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit

Query to compare two columns in two separate tables for identical values

I'm just not sure of the language to use to do this in the Criteria section of Query Design.

Basically, I'm looking to see if the same customer IDs are present in two separate tables. This would indicate double payments. Both tables have a customer ID column.

For example, if the customer ID 12345 is present in both tables, then a double payment was made.

I tried this in Excel (using =ISNA/Match formula) but the number of rows is close to 100,000 and it locks up. I'm new to Access and hoping there's something that could do this.

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Could try Find Unmatched query. There is a wizard for that.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

sam81 is offline Novice
    Quote Originally Posted by June7 View Post
    Could try Find Unmatched query. There is a wizard for that.
    Well, the description in the Unmatched Query wizard states that it will find rows in one table that have no related records in another table. I need it to find rows in one table that do have related (identical) records in another table.

June7 is offline VIP
    Sorry, misread post.

Then that is just a SELECT query with INNER JOIN.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

sam81 is offline Novice
    Here's the syntax I'm attempting, but it keeps causing an error message. I know I'm probably overlooking something minor, still new to this.

The two tables are "19m" and "34m". Both tables contain a column called "Claim ID".

SELECT;
    FROM 19m INNER JOIN 34m ON 19m.Claim ID = 34m.Claim ID

June7 is offline VIP