Troubled is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2003

Angry problem converting from access 2003 to access 2007

I am a raw novice with the unfriendly Microsoft access. However I have created a working database in access 2003 that I am pleased with. I no longer have my computer with access 2003. It has access 2007. I thought it would be better. It isn't because most of the commands that work perfectly with access 2003 no longer work with access 2007. 1 simple example is DoCmd.Open form "formname" This works perfectly well in 2003. I know that there are various clauses that can be added but none of these helps. Please tell me what I need to do to get this working.

ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Where did you place
    DoCmd.Open form "formname"
    ????

Sometimes saved Macro Objects do not work in other versions of Access. You can use the Docmd.OpenForm method as VBA code behind a form.
    https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/lib.../ff820845.aspx

Dear ItsMe, I do appreciate your help. My access 2003 database has the line in a menu I have created. The purpose was to select an item from my menu. The line is in On click and is an event procedure. In 2003 it simply opened the form. The actual syntax was DoCmd.OpenForm "Form name"

Sounds like VBA behind the form to me. Should work in Access 2007, 2010 etc.

You should be able to open your 2003 version database with Access 2007 and it should work just fine. If there was a problem, I would not expect it to be with trying to execute that code.

One thing that you can try (be sure to make copies of your DB and store copies in a safe place), is to rebuild the control that has the click event. If it is a button, delete the button, do a compact and repair, and then place a new button on the form. Then, add you code. I would expect it to work.