DittoBird is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007

Laid Off - What About Code, Presentations, etc?

Hi folks,

I've been recently laid off after nearly 21 years at a university as a result of a reorganization and my position became redundant. I was a maintenance manager heavily involved with an Oracle computerized maintenance management system for which I wrote a lot of supplementary applications using MS Access front ends with PTQs instead of linked tables. My redundancy was completely unexpected and I don't have any of my code for future reference, nor any of my documents or presentations to be able to provide examples of my work. The university will not allow me to retrieve anything, though I was allowed to take away any number of paper files that had to do with my management work.

Is this a normal sort of arrangement? I feel like I've been violated and thrown out of a moving bus without any clothes or anything at all.

Some of my procedures like a function to take SQL (developed by choices on other forms) and turn it into a saved or temporary PTQ or an actual Oracle view took me a long time to develop and I relied heavily on them. I did a lot of really in-depth graph manipulation which would take me years to accomplish again.

Some of my presentations involved rather clever things like using geoscience as an analogy for advocacy of integration of existing systems to be able to reduce both data redundancy (for example, different tables associated with room and outdoor spaces, space types, space ownership made) and reduce duplicate computer related work with respect to trades people, inventory disbursement, accounting. I'm not allowed to get some of these things either - the example I discuss might actually look very good on my LinkedIn summary profile.

What do other people do in cases like this?

Thank you in advance for any suggestions.

ranman256 is online now VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    Like me too,