CountryLane is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

Building a Form/subform that will autofill fields from some records from 2 independant databases

I'm fairly new to access and I'm trying to figure out how to streamline it for our companies specific needs. We are a manufacturer primarily, but we also do a good deal of field work which often entails installing the products we manufacture. We primarily sell our products to our network of 200+ dealers, but we also have an in-house local retail sales department.

The first database is for our dealers which has basic info like name, address, phone, email, etc.

Our second DB is a list of the products we make and who is buying them along with specific product details like size, color, material. The key in this DB is the PO# which is an autonumber.

The third DB is for our home installation work which includes customer contact info, site address, and product info/job details.

Most of the time we will be installing products from our second DB - so I would like to have a form for entering data into the third DB that would autofill fields such as Dealer and Product size, color, etc. IF I use a PO# from the second DB. Basically I want it to autofill all the duplicate info when there is duplicate info. If its a stand alone install that doesn't involve one of our products then I'll just input everything manually without a PO#.

rpeare is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Where will the data entry take place? Will all the databases be able to 'see' one another?