Results 1 to 2 of 2

you cannot add or change a record because a related record is required in CustomerT

  1. #1
    sk5347 is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2013
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    2

    you cannot add or change a record because a related record is required in CustomerT

    Hello,



    I have just started to learn Access and cannot seem to sort out the error. If someone could give me an idea where I have gone wrong that would be great.Test Data.zip

    On the QuoteF form I am entering a new pid in the form say (smit001) I get the error
    "you cannot add or change a record because a related record is required in CustomerT"

    Thanks

  2. #2
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is online now Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    20,780
    In your relationships, you've got referential integrity checked (which is not a bad thing). That means you've told Access not to allow a quote to be entered for a customer that doesn't exist already in the customer table. In this sample, there are no customers so you wouldn't be able to enter a quote. If you enter a customer, it should work.
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-26-2014, 08:52 AM
  2. Replies: 40
    Last Post: 08-20-2013, 11:38 PM
  3. Related Record Required
    By ungratefulninja in forum Database Design
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-02-2012, 10:21 AM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-21-2012, 01:10 PM
  5. ...related record required...
    By degras in forum Forms
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11-03-2011, 12:20 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Tech Forums: Microsoft Office Forums