DBenz is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit

Auto Number giving record number plus 1 now I open my dbase into access 2010

Hi,

I have been using Access 2000 for many years with win XP 32bit. I have a new PC with Win 7 64 bit, Purchase a genuine Microsoft Office Pro 2010 and install, all goes well.

I open my database Form view which has its first window as ID: and the number in that window, when I create a new record, always matches the record number showing at foot of form in the window that access puts there.

I can go to any record I have and the ID number matches my record number. I have always liked that fact, gives me comfort in knowing nothing has glitched or a record has got deleted etc. I always look to that for 'comfort' in this particular dbase where no records get deleted so it gives me feedback on that.

However the second and third records I have added under this new OS and version of access have that ID number as the record number PLUS 1,
    record 1294 has ID 1294 this was the first record added after using Access 2010 and as such with the correct ID no cause for concern.
    record 1295 has ID 1296
    record 1296 has ID 1297

I had closed down the PC before adding record 1295 the next day. I clicked on the vertical bar at left of record 1294 and chose copy, then clicked on new record and right clicked that bar and went paste. This brings in the details of record 1294 where I then make changes to some parts of it. I have always done this with this dbase. I can only think that for some reason that 2010 did something different to ID than it ever did prior to this, jumping the ID number two forward.

I am unable to alter that ID number either in form or table.

I want my ID and record number matching as it always has done, I know thats not vital but I liked the fact it did so, not happy that 2010 messed it up, so what happened and how do I fix it ?

DBenz

orange is offline Moderator
    Windows XP Access 2003