Results 1 to 6 of 6

Replace Button not working, Data Cleaning, Help!

  1. #1
    Wario84 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    3

    Replace Button not working, Data Cleaning, Help!

    Hi Everyone, I'm trying to clean a database, It is an Excel spreed sheet which contain cells with a lot of information separated with spaces, comas, semicolons and so on... The idea that I had is to segregate the data using "text to cells" excel command and later use MS Access and the replace button to clean the data. However, somehow the replace button is not working... I don't know why...



    Some ideas how can I fix this problem? will be so much appreciated...

    Mario

  2. #2
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    48,050
    How would you use Access and replace button to modify Excel data? Post attempted code.

    What does 'not working' mean - error message, wrong results, nothing happens?
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  3. #3
    Wario84 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    3
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Notworking.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	227.4 KB 
ID:	18882
    Please look at the picture, "not working" means that it is like gray... it is like the button is unavailable...

  4. #4
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    48,050
    Cannot edit linked spreadsheet with Access tools. That's why the button is not available.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  5. #5
    Wario84 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    3
    OK, thank you very much, but how can I solve it?

  6. #6
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    48,050
    Do the data cleaning in Excel or import the data into Access table.

    From what I can see, the data is very poorly structured. Multiple different data in one cell is very bad design. Multiple similar name fields with same type of data also indicates non-normalized structure.

    This might help you gain better understanding of relational database design http://www.rogersaccesslibrary.com/
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Cleaning up a spreadsheet
    By tonydepo in forum Import/Export Data
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 11-13-2012, 04:27 PM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-07-2012, 07:05 AM
  3. Cleaning up the alphabet
    By ducecoop in forum Access
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-28-2010, 08:33 AM
  4. Cleaning Data
    By Sck in forum Queries
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-22-2010, 12:43 AM
  5. Cleaning Up Data - Need Help
    By NeedHelp in forum Access
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-05-2010, 10:06 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Tech Forums: Microsoft Office Forums