Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    wcrimi is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 8 Access 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    140

    First Row Equals Header Problem

    I'm a beginner. I have what is probably a basic question, but I can't find the answer.



    I originally had a text file that contained a Header Record that defined all the field names for a table I was building. I allowed Access to use that first record (First Row) to assign the field names for those records when I used a text import. Now I would like to add records to that table, but the data I get does NOT have that same Header Record in it. Access seems to be requiring me to have that record in it to do an import with an Append since that's the way the table was created. So I am having to manually add a Header Record to my file to accomplish the task. Obviously, that's not satisfactory.

    Is there any way once I create a table using that First Row feature I can easily import these records without a Header record?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    49,770
    What method are you using for the import - the Wizard? Are you using a saved import specification?
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  3. #3
    wcrimi is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 8 Access 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    140
    Yes, I am using the Wizard. I did not save any import specifications.

    I'm not sure what's going on at this point. It may be because the automatically generated ID field is not in the TXT file (never was). That field was generated on creation.

    I click on External Data, select import Text, I get prompted to select the location of the file on my computer, I find it, I select Append, and then when I import the file I get all kinds of errors on every record.

    Type Conversion Failure
    Null value in an auto number field
    Field Truncation

  4. #4
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    49,770
    Try:

    Open the table in design view, move the autonumber field to the end of the fields (or delete it if you really don't need this value anywhere - if it is not used as a foreign key in related table).
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  5. #5
    wcrimi is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 8 Access 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    140
    Quote Originally Posted by June7 View Post
    Try:

    Open the table in design view, move the autonumber field to the end of the fields (or delete it if you really don't need this value anywhere - if it is not used as a foreign key in related table).
    That did the trick. Thanks.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 06-13-2014, 03:25 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-06-2014, 10:58 AM
  3. Header Repeats at Top Page Problem
    By KelleyM in forum Reports
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-02-2012, 02:47 PM
  4. Return rows where value equals drop down
    By AccessLiability in forum Forms
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-02-2012, 07:15 AM
  5. Is the Access 'Equals' operator broken?
    By AccessPonderer in forum Queries
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-18-2011, 09:00 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums - Senior Forums