craignovice is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013

Cascading Combo Boxes and Automatic Update of a field in another table based on the selection

Would appreciate some much needed help, I am a novice at Database but have created some simple ones. I am looking to create a Database to track/log orders from clients...

I have a table (tblsalesagent) where I intent to input information like a contacts form....
    Fields>>>
    SalesAgentName
    Address
    Email
    Etc ......
    *Company (E.g Sony)
    *Branch (e.g London)

However I would like to have the two fields marked with (*) also, the idea being that when I pick the company ideally from a drop down list. Then the Branch selection would only give me the branches that are related to that company .

i am not sure what the correct way is to setup the tables to store the information for these fields. Plus it will also require some code I imagine...

The the next step is to have an orders table (tblorders) where I will log each order.
    Fields>>>
    OrderID (bespoke id)
    Description
    Order Date
    **SalesAgentName
    *Company
    *Branch

Therefore the SalesAgentName will be selected from the (tblsalesagent) via a lookup ... I would like the Company and Branch fields in the (tblorders) to autocomplete based on the information stored against this SalesAgent in the (tblsalesagent) ...

Thanks

pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

Hi pbaldy, with regards to the auto fill, I think using a query is definitely the right way to go, so therefore to get the Company and Branch to appear in the query, what would my key field be in the orders table ?

Windows XP Access 2007
    The field that relates the tables, presumably SalesAgentName. I would use an ID field rather than the name; sooner or later you're going to have 2 people with the same name.
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019