Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    ch5150 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2000

Overcoming another author's failure to normalize.

I am trying to develop a db originally written by someone else that has a series of fields in tblOperatorReports labeled RawPartNumber1, RawPartNumber2, etc... to RawPartNumber 14. In the form they present themselves as a single column though in truth they are 14 separate columns. Now however, the client wants to be able to search/report based on the contents of that "field/column". I have tried several things to solve the problem but in each case the solution was not workable and I have had no success... I have some experience w/ the object oriented aspects but not great at sql or vba and have come to a brick wall in terms of options to overcome this problem. Any assistance would be GREATLY appreciated.
    Respects and Regards,
    Chris

burrina is offline VIP
    Windows 8 Access 2010 32bit
    What do you mean by single column? A ComboBox ? You want to be able to search a Report or on a form? I have no clear idea of what you really have.

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Do you mean a single UNBOUND combobox used as input for filter criteria?

The only approach I can think of is a parameterized query where the combobox is referenced under each of the 14 fields, each on a separate Criteria row to invoke the OR operator (looks like stair steps).
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

ch5150 is offline Novice
    I'm uploading a screen shot of the form. Click image for larger version. 

Name:	frmOperatorReport.jpg 
Views:	21 
Size:	104.8 KB