Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    AccessN00bee is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Assigning Macros to Buttons using the Macro Builder

Hi,

I am completely new to Access. I have been asked to modify an existing form in a database. I have a form that we log hours into after a certain time and create a new record each time. I'm attempting to use macro builder (I have no VBA experience) to assign a macro to the button that will create a new record, take certain fields from the previous record and paste them into a previous hours field. I am able to use the button to create a new record, but that's as far as it goes. I attempted to use a sub-macro to reference the previous field and queries to select the previous, but that did not work. Any help is much appreciated. Thank you.

AccessN00bee

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    The 'copy/paste' concept is not practical. What you want to do is carry forward the data into a new record. Best approach is to set the DefaultValue property of the controls then when moving to new record row and initiating data entry in any other field, those controls will automatically populate. I don't use macros, only VBA and don't know if macros can set properties. http://access.mvps.org/access/forms/frm0012.htm
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Confused

I'm a little confused about that process. I will look into trying that a little later. I attempted to edit the Err_Duplicate_Projeck_Click by using Duplicate Record function when adding a button. No data is duplicated. This is the code for duplicating a record, but it does not work.

On Error GoTo Err_Duplicate_Project_Click

DoCmd.RunCommand acCmdSelectRecord
    DoCmd.RunCommand acCmdCopy
    DoCmd.RunCommand acCmdRecordsGoToNew
    DoCmd.RunCommand acCmdSelectRecord
    DoCmd.RunCommand acCmdPaste