RatExcel is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit

DB design problem - how to set up relationships to get desired results

Hello,

I'm quite new to Access and I have a problem how to set up relationships between my tables so I could get desired results.

As far as I know the problem lies in JOIN type - I think just simple INNER JOIN is not enough. I probably have to apply LEFT, RIGHT or maybe FULL join but do not how exactly.

I will describe my database here in details and also attach it to the post so you can look into it and maybe help me somehow.

tbl_Input - contains input data, contents of this table will change, I will load new data each month
    No Primary Key
    1) Client - client ID: for example - C001, C002, C003, C004
    2) Depatment - department name: Finance, Marketing, Derivatives, HR, Payroll
    3) Amount - amount of money

tbl_Client - contains client information
    1) Client (PK) - client ID: C001, C002, C003, C004, C005
    2) Region - one of four regions: Asia, America, Europe, Africa
    3) Active? - Yes/No field, determines if client is active or inactive

tbl_Department - contains department infomation, there can be the same Dept_Abbr for many Departments, e.g. ADM Dept_Abbr is mapped to HR department and Payroll department
    1) Department (PK) - department name: Finance, Marketing, Derivatives, HR, Payroll
    2) Dept_Abbr - department ID: FIN, MAR, ADM

tbl_Function
    - contains function information, there are 3 different Processes (P1, P2 and P3) and there is some Function for each different combination of Dept_Abbr + Procces
    1) Function - function ID: F1, M1, A1, F2, M2, A2, F3, M3, A3
    2) Dept_Abbr (PK) - department ID: FIN, MAR, ADM
    3) Process (PK) - process ID: P1, P2, P3

tbl_Account - contains account numebers, there are some account numbers for each different combination of Client + Function
    1) Account - account number
    2) Client (PK) - client ID: C001, C002, C003