Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    bronson_mech is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    94

    Databse is too slow

    Hi guys,

    my database is too slow if i click any form or query it is taking more than 5mins i have more than 20thousan records in my database & it is a multi user. is there any option make my database to run fast....


    please help me to rectify it....

  2. #2
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    50,143
    20,000 records is not much.

    Is this a split design with each user running their own copy of frontend?
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  3. #3
    bronson_mech is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    94
    S its an split design with each user running their own copy of frontend....

  4. #4
    ranman256's Avatar
    ranman256 is online now VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    8,923
    We had this condition happen because of the anti-virus on the network. It sucked ALL our computing resource on the db.

  5. #5
    bronson_mech is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    94
    is there any option to make my database to run fater/normal....?

  6. #6
    ranman256's Avatar
    ranman256 is online now VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    8,923
    It could be many things....

    It could be the network,
    or db connection
    or anti-virus (if you can disable it temporarily)
    or db usage on other users.

  7. #7
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    50,143
    Conduct tests.

    1. Copy of frontend and backend on a computer at C: root. Change table links to this backend.

    2. Make copy of frontend and import data into local tables. Run this db on computer C: drive.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  8. #8
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,923
    Here's a link to several suggestions: http://www.granite.ab.ca/access/performancefaq.htm

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Search Filter Databse HELP ASAP
    By JordanS98 in forum Access
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-03-2014, 01:52 AM
  2. Databse Tables
    By Andyjones in forum Access
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-15-2014, 12:34 PM
  3. Macro for only Sequal Server Databse?
    By RLJ in forum Macros
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-03-2013, 12:59 PM
  4. Access Databse
    By mbarmecha in forum Access
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-26-2009, 02:23 PM
  5. FOLLOW UP DATABSE
    By gab_esp in forum Database Design
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-19-2006, 11:27 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums - Senior Forums