Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    mmartin831 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    3

    I need a hyperlink in access 2010 but I want it to pull up a specific web page and search the data


    I need to create a hyperlink in a form that I have created but I need it to pull up the specific web page and bring me to the specific data that is pulling from the table. Example, and only an example----in a form could be displayed "chin up bar" or "bicycle" and I would want the hyperlink to pull up Target's website and search for either "chin up bar" or "bicycle". Please help!!

  2. #2
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,902
    This requires knowing name of the box on the web page for input of parameter. I have code that opens a web page and inputs login and password. Example:

    'open ASTM/AASHTO test standards website and pass agency username/password to the web page
    Dim oBrowser As InternetExplorer
    Set oBrowser = New InternetExplorer
    oBrowser.Silent = True
    oBrowser.Navigate "url here"
    oBrowser.Visible = True
    Do
    'Wait till the Browser is loaded
    Loop Until oBrowser.ReadyState = READYSTATE_COMPLETE
    oBrowser.Document.all.Item("subAcctLoginName").Val ue = "our login name here"
    oBrowser.Document.all.Item("subAcctPassword").Valu e = "our password here"
    oBrowser.Document.all.Item("Submit").Click

    If you open the web page in IE and click Page > ViewSource, you might be able to figure out those control names. That worked for me to build code. Really need to be able to read HTML. I just took a look at Target home page and viewed the source code. I did a search on the text for 'search'. The search box might be searchTerm and the button is goSearch. Guess what - it works!!
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  3. #3
    mmartin831 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    3
    That is perfect. I will test it here in a bit!! Thank you for the reply!

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-14-2013, 05:43 PM
  2. pull data from a specific record in a subform
    By pleshrl in forum Queries
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-21-2013, 05:07 AM
  3. Access 2010 and HyperLink to Folder
    By grapin in forum Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-13-2012, 01:07 PM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-19-2012, 11:03 AM
  5. Code to pull in data from a specific record
    By jdunn36 in forum Access
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-20-2010, 11:54 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums