Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    DanLarn is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    5

    Lightbulb How can I use a series of Combo boxes to sort data?

    I would like to use a series of combo boxes in order to logically file an item as being in a specific part of the warehouse, with a discreet predefined value.



    I have a number of Tables created so far:
    1) Equipment - The list of equipment which is in the warehouse.
    2) Location - This specifies which section of the warehouse the equipment is in.
    3) Sub-location - This specifies which part of the 'Location' the item is in.
    4) Position - This specifies the exact shelf in the 'Sub-location' the item can be found on.

    I would like to add new items to the 'Equipment' database using a form. I wish to have a combo box where I can select the 'Location' of an item, then based upon that selection the values for 'Sub-location' would change to only show what is available for that specific 'Location', the 'Sub-location' would then dictate what options were available in the list for 'Position'.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    ranman256's Avatar
    ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    9,521
    If you have a form (tab view) continuous records.
    When you start adding more boxes to filter, it has to be an option...
    Put the filter controls on the header and a button APPLY FILTER
    the button AFTERUPDATE event is:

    Code:
    dim vFilt
    if not isnull(cboST) then vFilt = vFilt & "[state]='" & cboST & "' and"
    if not isnull(txtName) then vFilt = vFilt & "[Name]='" & txtName & "' and"
    if not isnull(txtProd) then vFilt = vFilt & "[Product]='" & txtProd & "' and"
       'remove the last AND
    vFilt = Left(vFilt, InStrRev(vFilt, "AND") - 1)
    
      'Apply filter
    me.filter = vFilt 
    me.filteron = true

  3. #3
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    22,518
    Or is this what you're after?

    http://www.baldyweb.com/CascadingCombo.htm
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

  4. #4
    DanLarn is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    5
    Thanks Fellas,

    With a little guidance I managed to set up cascading combo boxes, I found this:
    http://datapigtechnologies.com/flash...combobox2.html

    couldn't have made it any clearer! it works a treat now!

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 08-06-2014, 09:47 AM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-24-2013, 11:38 AM
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-06-2012, 11:57 AM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-28-2012, 09:39 AM
  5. how to filter data using two combo boxes?
    By jasonix in forum Reports
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-21-2011, 03:04 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums