Masterfinn is offline Novice
    Windows 7 Access 2003

MSACCESS Query with calculations?

Good day, I am a beginner with MSACCESS and would like some advice on creating a query/report. I have a table in my DB that i would like to run a query on. The table has a few columns but i would like to focus on only 2, which contain dates.

I want to run a query/report that will show me the following:

First i would like the query/report to prompt the user for a 'start date' and and 'end date'
    Then i would like the query/report to somehow use these dates and calulate the number of items in the table that are between these dates and produce that value on the screen.
    - I was able to get the input dates prompt setup in the query but it returns a list of all the records that it finds between these two dates(which is ok i guess cause i can just look on the screen to see how many records it returend to get the total), but is it possible to have it just produce the one number that shows the total?

So far i have only created a basic query for this with the information below: I havent started on the report yet.

Field: Order#
    Table: orders_tbl

Field: OpenDate
    Sort: Ascending

Field: CloseDate
    Criteria:Between [Start Date (MM/DD/YYYY)] And [End Date (MM/DD/YYYY)]

*The information i have listed in the criteria above is what prompts the user to enter the dates that the query will go through the table and show me the list of all the orders that were closed between those dates. But like i mentioned earlier i would like it to just show me a total number value and not a list of all the orders. I have tried to use the count and dcount with no luck

Also to expand on this query, is it possible to produce a total number of entries that have a specific number of days between them?