Derrick T. Davidson is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 8 Access 2010 64bit

There has to be an easier / better way

Hi

I have a database that is growing and this method worked ok while the accounts were only a few, to identify the account and the debits and credits I used an expression similar to below for each account but I have to go into the query and add the account name each time:

iif([accountname]="Jones", [debitamount],0)
    iif([accountname]="Jones", [creditamount],0)

I assume you will look upon this method with dismay but I am a self taught novice, is there a way to automate this so when I add an account the debits and credits can be stripped out automatically?

ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    I am not sure what you are doing with these accounts. (no context)

If you are clearing the acct to start... you need to build an update query.

If you are using 'special' accounts to show, the ACCOUNT table should have a flag on the name, whether or not to use (like [ENABLED])
    Either way DO NOT HARDCODE NAMES into queries.

This database is for a small (very small) business, the account name is the [client] and the [client] deposits xx.xx dollars in their account [creditamount]. As the [client] orders the deposit is taken from the account [debitamount] and each month a statement is produced showing credits minus debits = balance. Just like a mini bank account statement. The information is also used for cash flow, product inventory, historical buying, etc.

I understand I am probably breaking all your expert rules with "HARDCODING NAMES" but it works ok the problem is adding new accounts when a whole series of queries have to have "HARDCODED NAMES" added.

As I said I am self taught (with the help of this forum) and am learning as I go along.

ranman256 is offline VIP
    I get that part but why is JONES the only account using
    iif([accountname]="Jones", [debitamount],0)

Wouldnt every account get [debitAmount]?