Sa'El is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007

Code that Refers to a Field (Control) in a Subform

Hi,

I am not new to Access but I am new to VBA programming starting this weekend, but have made decent progress. Simultaneously I would like to hide/unhide a subform based on a checkbox. Additionally, if there were values in the subform, when it is hidden again I want the values in the subform to be null. For the record, I have been successful with the visible/invisible part and to make values null on the main form, but I haven't been able to reference the subform controls to make null.

Here's the code

Private Sub KCCQ_AfterUpdate()
    If Me.KCCQ = -1 Then
    Me.D_1_KCCQ_12_Form.Visible = True
    Else
    Me.D_1_KCCQ_12_Form.Visible = False
    '***Insert Code Here*** = Null

End If
    End Sub

Also, "D_1_KCCQ_12_Form" is the name of the subform container, not the subform name in the navigation pane.

Again, the above code the astrerisk row works fine. I have tried "Me.D_1_KCCQ_12_Form.Form._____ = Null", but it's not right, and not surprisingly the "Complete Word" in the VBA editor doesn't list the control names to choose from (but other objects).

Any help would be appreciated. Thank you.

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    What do you mean by 'make null'? - move to a new record row? Is this an UNBOUND form?

Me.subformcontainername.controlname = Null

An alternative I use is to put the code to set each control value in a Sub procedure behind the subform then call the Sub from the main form:

Call Me.subformcontrolname.Form.Subname

Say the subform container control is named ctrDetails and the Sub procedure is named SetNull:

Call Me.ctrDetails.Form.SetNull
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Thanks for the reply, June.